Results of Cameroon Legislative Elections have been Proclaimed

Cameroon supreme courtThe Supreme Court of Cameroon has proclaimed the official results of the September 30, 2013 Legislative (parliamentary) elections. Following its declaration, the Cameroon’s People Democratic Movement (CPDM) won the September 30 Legislative (parliamentary) elections in a landslide.

The proclamation was made in Yaoundé, capital of Cameroon on Thursday October 17, 2013. The Supreme Court sitting in for the Constitutional Council in a solemn ceremony presided over by the Chief Justice of the court, Alexis Dipanda Mouelle, in its proclamation confirmed the overwhelming “victory” of the ruling CPDM party with 148 out of 180 seats in the national assembly.

The Social Democratic Front (the main opposition party) won 18 seats out of 180 seats, the National Union for Democracy and Progress (NUDP) of Bello Bouba Maigari won five seats. Dr. Adamou Ndam Njoya’s Cameroon Democratic Union (CDU) has four seats while Cameroon’s oldest party, the Union of the Peoples of Cameroon (Union des Populations du Cameroun-UPC) won three seats.

Furthermore, the Movement for the Defense of the Republic (MDR) of Mr. Dakole Daissala and the Cameroon’s Renaissance Movement (MRC) of Prof. Maurice Kamto have one seat each.

The Election proclamation ceremony which took place at the court premises in Yaoundé was attended by government ministers, heads of diplomatic missions accredited to Cameroon, civil society organizations and a host of national and international journalists.

Below are statistics related to the 30 September 2013 Legislative Election as proclaimed by the court:

Number of Political parties who contested 29
Registered voters: 5,481, 226
Number of people who voted: 4,208, 796
Abstention: 1, 272, 430
Participation rate: 76.79 %
Null ballots: 185, 503
Ballot Casts: 4,023, 293

Detail Results:

Political Party No. of Seats Won
Cameroon People’s Democratic Movement (CPDM) 148
Social Democratic Front (SDF) 18
National Union for Democracy and Progress (NUDP) 5
Cameroon Democratic Union (CDU) 4
Union of the Peoples of Cameroon (UPC) 3
Cameroon Renaissance Movement (MRC) 1
Movement for the Defense of the Republic (MDR) 1
22 other parties 0
Total 180

Comments are closed.

Translate »